Stuff You’d Want on a New Ubuntu Install

I recently had to re-install on my computer following a RAM burn-out and major OS crashes. So I’ve made a list of things I always install on ubuntu before I consider it usable:

  1. Media Players:
    • Amarok – My favourite music player (apt-get install amarok). I use mysql to store my collections. Watch out for a tut on how to do this! Here’s how to do this!
    • totem-gstreamer – Somehow I’ve taken a dislike to gstreamer. I prefer xine instead. (apt-get remove totem-gstreamer)
    • totem-xine – the same totem, with a xine core
    • smplayer – SMplayer is a GUI for mplayer, one of the best media players around. (apt-get install smplayer)
    • vlc media player – I keep this just out of habit — just as good as smplayer, only not as good a GUI (apt-get install vlc)
  2. Utitlities:
    • nmap – nmap is a great network scanner. (apt-get install nmap)
    • Yakuake – Yakuake is what you call a “drop-down terminal”. It requires the use of kde libraries (so does amarok), but all that is taken care of by apt-get. (apt-get install yakuake)
    • wine – Wine helps me run some windoze apps (like counter strike!) on linux. (apt-get install wine)
    • Partition Editor – A great tool to examine and manipulate partitions on your hard drive. (apt-get install gparted)
    • Linux DC++ – A linux client for the DC++ protocol (apt-get install linuxdcpp)
  3. Dev tools:
    • G++ – the C++ development environment (apt-get install g++)
    • manpages-dev – Contains man pages describing the Linux programming interface including Linux system calls and library calls. (apt-get install manpages-dev)
    • Java – I don’t use java a lot, but I still install it. But I dont use the ubuntu package for this (sun-java5-jdk). Instead I download it directly from Sun’s website. This way I can prevent java from “getting into ubuntu’s heart” 😛
  4. Web server stuff:
    • Apache2 – the supreme web server of all earth, water and sky! (apt-get install apache2)
    • PHP5 – my favourite server scripting language. To get this working with apache, we need the php5 apache mod. (apt-get install php5 libapache2-mod-php5)
    • MySQL – The database server of my choice. I also install the mysql module for php to get database access from php. (apt-get install mysql-server-5.0 php5-mysql)
  5. Browsers:
    • Firefox 3 – already available
    • Firefox 2 – This is purely for testing web pages on FF2. I make a separate user (ff2) and install FF2 in a separate folder by downloading the setup from here.
    • Opera – for testing javascript and web pages on opera. Mostly all these browsers are for ensuring cross-browser operation of stuff I make. Download the latest version from here.
    • Konqueror – again for cross-browser stuff. (apt-get install konqueror)
    • ies4linux – This nifty software install the Windows IE 5, 5.5 and 6 on linux. This uses wine and cabextract, so wine must be installed first. (apt-get install wine cabextract). Now ies4linux must be downloaded and installed separately from here.

Well, this is what makes my ubuntu complete. What completes yours?

One thought on “Stuff You’d Want on a New Ubuntu Install

Leave a Reply

