HOW TO: Guest OS Networking in VirtualBox

I am an ubuntu user and I am a web developer. So what do I do when I need to test web applications on IE6 or IE7? I don’t go to some other computer running windows. I run windows in a virtual machine using Virtualbox.

The only hurdle is: how to reach the host OS network from the guest OS network? I scoured the internet for solutions, and I found one that did it in the first go: so here it is.

Now my life is easier. I don’t trouble my friends by asking them to lend me some of their time. I don’t need to interrupt their counter strike or WoW game. I do it on Virtualbox!

BTW, there is this project called ies4linux – a software to install ie 5, 6 and 7 on linux using wine. I tried it, but it somehow didn’t hit the sweet spot. For those of you who want to try, find it here.

Leave a Reply

