BUG: Timepicker does not display AM/PM on Ubuntu, Datepicker displays an arbitrary “October”

Datepicker and Timepicker Screenshot

Datepicker and Timepicker Screenshot

I recently noticed a little bug in firefox (I don’t know where this belongs, in “xulrunner” or in firefox code itself), and I dutifully report it here:

My friend built an extension for firefox, and I noticed that the timepicker control (in xul) does not display the AM/PM select, neither does it provide a 24 hour clock. (only on Ubuntu).

I live in India, and so it just shows IST instead of AM/PM (see screenshot)

This problem occurs only on Ubuntu (I have not tried other distros). The same firefox extension was displaying AM/PM correctly in Firefox when running on Windows Vista.

The same problem occurred with the datepicker control: it was displaying an arbitrary “October” between the Day number and Month number. (This too, only on ubuntu).

I have reported the bug at bugzilla: https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=479069

I wonder why this is hapenning.

Leave a Reply

